:::

Imperial Power and Buddhism

Buddhism spread eastward to Japan around the middle of the sixth century from the kingdom of Baekje (located in the southwest part of the Korean peninsula). According to legend, the practice of Buddhism in Japan began with the powerful Soga clan, and it was Prince Shōtoku (574-622) with his close relations to the Soga clan who established the foundations of Buddhism in Japan. After the civil disturbances of the middle seventh century, Japan came to emulate the laws and statutes used in the Sui and Tang dynasties of China, becoming a country with a centralized authority. Buddhism was incorporated into this nascent government, officially making Japan a “Buddhist nation.”

The Japanese monk Kūkai (774-835) traveled to Tang China in 804 to seek Buddhist teachings and founded the Shingon (“True Word”) sect of esoteric (Mikkyō) Buddhism in Japan. This form of Buddhism employs rites of blessing and prayer to bring out the power of spoken mantras. For the purpose of protecting the country or bringing about a better life, it was especially widespread among members of the imperial family and the aristocracy. In addition, belief in Amida (Amitabha) Buddha rose in the Heian period (794-1192) as well, its ideas about the Pure Land and being reborn in the paradise there attracting a wide audience.

From the Asuka period (592-710) to the Heian era, changes in policies towards Buddhism and in society led from clan-based to national Buddhism and aristocratic Buddhism. The result is the rich and diverse forms of Buddhism that we see today in Japan.

Buddhism and
the Law

Starting in the year 600, Japan began sending emissaries to China, which was ruled by the Sui dynasty, in a policy that did not end until the ninth century during the Tang dynasty. These emissaries brought the laws, institutions, and culture of the Sui and Tang dynasties back to Japan. On the one hand, they helped form the legal and political tradition for government (ritsuryō) in Japan and, on the other, brought material culture and ideas as well, leading to the absorption of Chinese culture. At the time, Buddhism was an important link in national policy; the ruling class sponsored the construction of many temples as part of faith in Buddhist protection of the state. The transcription and reciting of Buddhist scriptures also became widespread.

Esoteric and Pure Land Buddhism

Japanese monks who had gone to Tang dynasty China in the ninth century to seek Buddhism not only spread the teachings, they also brought back to Japan sculptures and images related to esoteric Buddhism.The style and content of esoteric Buddhist paintings and sculptures convey an awesome and mysterious quality to the uninitiated, being something quite different from the usual. By the latter half of the tenth century, the religious beliefs based on the Lotus Sutra and the rebirth in the western Pure Land were deeply rooted in the private life among the aristocracy in the Heian period. Many nobles and elite gentries also vowed to build halls for the Amida Buddha, sponsor to commission the Amida sculptures, and paintings depicting the Buddha’s arrival to receive the departed illustrated the unique expressions of Pure Land (Jōdo) Buddhist art.

Loading

:::

皇權與佛法

佛教,約於六世紀前半自百濟(位於朝鮮半島西南部)東傳日本。據說佛教信仰始於有力豪族蘇我氏一門,與蘇我氏關係深厚的聖德太子(574~622),則奠定了日本佛教的基礎。日本在經歷七世紀後半的內亂後,仿效隋唐的法典制定律令,建立中央集權國家。佛教的發展也納入國家體制之下,稱「國家佛教」。

僧侶空海(774~835)於804年入唐求法,回到日本後創立真言密教。密教以加持祈禱的儀式請求佛法的咒力,以達到鎮護國家的使命並求取現世的利益,因此在皇室與貴族間廣為流布。此外,平安時代(794~1192)也興起信仰阿彌陀佛、來世往生極樂淨土的淨土思想。

從飛鳥時代(592~710)到平安時代,佛教信仰歷經政策與社會背景的變化,從氏族佛教、國家佛教到貴族佛教,形成了今日所見燦爛豐富的面貌。

佛教與律令

日本自公元600年開始遣使入隋,直至九世紀末才廢止遣唐使。使節們將隋唐的法律規章、制度及文化帶回日本,一方面建立了日本的律令制,另一方面透過物質與文化的傳遞,廣為吸納中國文明。同時佛教信仰也成為國策的一環,領導階層在佛法鎮護國家的思想下廣建寺院,佛經的抄寫與誦讀也大為盛行。

密教與淨土

九世紀入唐求法的僧人們,在傳達佛法教義的同時,也將密教的各式造型與圖像帶進日本。密教繪畫、佛像的風格與像容,威嚴神祕,令人耳目一新。到了十世紀後半,《法華經》信仰及往生西方極樂的淨土信仰,亦深刻地融入平安貴族的私人日常生活中。貴族與各地的有力人士相繼興建阿彌陀堂,發願製作阿彌陀佛像與來迎圖,形成了獨特的淨土教美術。

Loading