:::

Realms of
Aristocracy

The Fujiwara was an aristocratic clan of the Heian period that rose to power as a result of politically arranged marriages with the imperial family starting in the ninth century. Members of the Fujiwara clan served in such regent positions as Sesshō and Kampaku (official titles in ancient Japan), thereby administering or assisting in imperial rule. This aggrandizement of political power became known as “Sesshō-Kampaku government.” In the middle of the ninth century, the Ōtenmon Incident (866) laid the foundation for the political regency of the Fujiwara clan, the power of which reached an apogee and flourished during the administration of Fujiwara no Michinaga (966-1027).

After the An Lushan Rebellion (755-763) in the Tang dynasty, China went into decline and its high international status collapsed. As a result, Japan ceased official diplomatic activities in the form of sending emissaries to the Tang. Against the backdrop of China’s weakening influence, Japan’s previous emulation of continental culture took a new course to seek form and content more suited to the Japanese environment and people in what became known as “Kokufu Bunka (National Style).” In the arts, this included using the Japanese hiragana syllabary for calligraphy and yamato-e (Japanese-style) painting. Exhibiting the unique sensibilities and aesthetics of the Japanese manner, they had a profound impact on later generations.

In the realm of formative arts, Japan also departed from the imitation of Chinese art to express a delicacy and lyricism of its own. The themes and styles reveal a similar tendency towards Japanization.

Arts of
the Aristocracy

The Heian aristocracy is noted for its aesthetic of grace and beauty. Found throughout the literary works produced at the time and in surviving calligraphy, painting, and crafts is an ephemeral and refined taste. The Heian period was also a time when hiragana flourished. Hiragana writing derived from the cursive form of Chinese characters or their parts, making it easier for Japanese to express themselves. With the appearance of Kokin wakashū (Collection of Ancient and Modern Poems), native waka poetry and calligraphy became the fashion. Female writers particularly used hiragana to convey the opulence and refinement of court culture, many of the resulting works becoming classics of Japanese literature.

Representing Classical Culture

The Heian period, which spanned four centuries, formed the backbone of classical Japanese culture and spawned aesthetic norms and emotive visual forms that would become identified as uniquely Japanese. Imperial culture evolved against a backdrop of elegant sentiments in aristocratic life and continued to serve as a romantic symbol of longing in artworks created in later generations. Despite the distance in time from the Heian period, the descriptions of aristocratic life in literary works from that period not only continued to enjoy an avid readership, they became an important source of subject matter for painters, touching the hearts of many artists yearning of old.

Loading

:::

貴族的世界

平安貴族藤原氏一門,在九世紀起即藉由政治聯姻,逐步取得政治上的權力。天皇的外戚以攝政或關白(日本古代的職官)之名,代理、輔佐天皇施政,進而執掌權力的政治形態,稱為「攝關政治」。九世紀中葉的「應天門之變」(866年),鞏固了藤原氏的攝關政治。而藤原一族的權力在藤原道長(966~1027)掌權時臻於巔峰,如日中天。

而唐代在安史之亂(755~763)後國力日衰,過往崇高的國際地位瓦解,日本也停止遣唐使等正式外交活動。在中國影響力漸弱的背景下,日本將過往所學習的大陸文明,改弦易轍為適合日本風土環境的內容與形式,稱「國風文化」。包括假名書法、大和繪等藝術,呈現日本特有的感性與審美,對後世形成莫大的影響。

在造型藝術的領域中,日本也跳脫了對中國藝術的模仿,表現出屬於日本的纖細與抒情,主題與風格也呈現日本化的傾向。

貴族的藝文活動

平安貴族纖細優美的審美品味,無一不見於當時的文學作品,以及留存於世的書法、繪畫、工藝作品等,呈現出高格調的精煉美感。平安時代同時是假名的全盛時期,假名文字取用漢字草書或部分偏旁所創造,更能自由地表達日本人的感情。首部敕撰和歌集《古今和歌集》問世後,和歌的歌詠與書寫蔚為潮流,尤其是女性作家以假名描寫華麗宮廷文化,更出現了許多經典之作。

古典文化的再現

綿延超過四百年的平安時代,形塑了日本的古典文化,創立了屬於日本的美感規範與抒情的視覺形象。王朝文化以貴族生活的優雅情調為背景,直至後世,仍是浪漫的象徵及藝術創作憧憬的對象。雖然平安王朝的腳步已漸行漸遠,但描寫平安貴族生活的文學作品,不但頌讀不絕,更成為畫家筆下的重要題材,觸發人們的思古幽情與懷想。

Loading