:::

Culture of
the Samurai

Starting in the late ninth century, wealthy families began to take a vested interest in protecting their land and assets by forming militia units. Early in the tenth century, the court and nobility then started incorporating the powerful forces of these local warrior groups. Among the two largest were the Genji and Taira clans that emerged in the Kantō and Kansai regions. The Taira clan originally rose to power as a result of their military support of the emperor. Following the Hōgen and Heiji rebellions (1156 and 1159), the Taira came to exercise full control over the court. However, monopolization of power in the hands of the Taira clan led to civil disturbances throughout the land. Led by Minamoto no Yoritomo (1147-1199), the Genji clan launched an attack and defeated the Taira clan. As a result, in the late twelfth century Yoritomo established a shogunate in the Kamakura region. Afterwards, the center of political power in Japanese history shifted for the first time to the Kantō area and cultural supremacy left the aristocracy for the warrior class.

After the Muromachi shogunate was established in the fourteenth century, political power transferred back to Kyoto. The new samurai culture merged with traditional aristocratic culture in Kyoto, to which Chan (Zen) culture from the Chinese mainland was added. As a result, new art forms emerged in Japan, including monochrome ink painting (suiboku), tea culture (chadō), flower arrangement (ikebana), and Noh theater. Then, starting from the late fifteenth century, Japan was plunged into civil war for a century. Not until the appearance of Toyotomi Hideoyoshi (1537-1598) was Japan unified in the late sixteenth century, forming the foundation of modern Japanese society. After the death of Hideoyoshi, Tokugawa Ieyasu (1543-1616) established his shogunate base in the city of Edo (modern Tokyo). He transformed the military culture of the past into a civil one, the role of the warrior likewise changing from military duties to political administration.

The Arts of War

The samurai warrior was equipped with items for battle, such as sword and armor for himself and a harness for his horse. With the rise of the samurai class came economic clout and aesthetic awareness, leading to great effort and expense to create items of refinement and decoration in the arts and crafts. Both in terms of form and detail, they fully reflected the unique aesthetics of the samurai who wielded them. A succession of samurai generations resulted in the elegant military equipment that has been passed down to the present day. These works have long been admired by collectors for their form, forging, metalwork, and lacquer art, at the same time revealing the unique form of appreciation found in Japanese art.

The Arts of Leisure

With the rise and fall of shogunates in Japan, who dominated politics for nearly 700 years, art and culture witnessed remarkable achievement and diversity. For example, the eighth shogun of the Muromachi military regime (bakufu), Ashikaga Yoshimasa (1436-1490), amassed a large collection of Chinese luxury goods and fine art, which he used to furnish his residence and to reinforce his authority in cultural matters as well. Monochrome ink painting (suiboku) was brought to Japan with Zen Buddhism in the first half of the thirteenth century and became popular in Zen temples during the Muromachi period. While the Way of Tea (chadō) developed by Sen no Rikyū (1522-1591) took refined simplicity in the appreciation of tea to new heights, the magnificently colorful screen paintings of the Momoyama period (1573-1603) reflected the aesthetic tendencies of shoguns and the period style at the time. The items used by the samurai in daily life were often opulently decorated, reflecting their extraordinary status in society.

Loading

:::

武家的文化

從九世紀末開始,富豪之家為了保衛自己的土地財產,逐漸組成武裝集團。十世紀前半,朝廷與貴族開始收編地方武士團的強大勢力。其中的兩大集團源氏與平氏,則分別興起於關東與關西地區。平氏一族原為法皇院政麾下的軍事力量,在保元・平治之亂(1156、1159)後權力高漲,獨攬朝政大權。但平氏獨斷專行引發全國各地內亂,後源氏一門在源賴朝(1147~1199)率領下擊敗平氏,並在十二世紀末於鎌倉一地建立了幕府政權。於是,日本歷史的政權核心首次出現於關東,推動文化的力量也從貴族階層轉移至武士階層。

十四世紀室町幕府成立之後,將政權移回京都。新興的武家文化融合了京都傳統的貴族文化,加上來自中國大陸的禪宗文化,產生了水墨畫、茶道、花道、能劇等新興藝術。然而自十五世紀末開始,日本陷入長達百年的戰亂中,直至豐臣秀吉(1537~1598)出現,才於十六世紀末一統全國,奠定日本近世社會的基礎。豐臣秀吉死後,德川家康(1543~1616)在江戶成立幕府政權,由以往的武力殺伐轉為文治,武士的角色也從軍事轉往政治行政。

戰爭的美學

戰場上所用的刀劍、盔甲、馬具等武器裝備,隨著武士階層勢力的興起,並因應個人的經濟能力與愛好,往往極盡工藝裝飾之能事,在造型與細部裝飾上充分發揮武人獨特的美感。歷經朝代更替而流傳至今的武器裝備,受到歷代收藏家對於造型、鍛造、金工、與漆藝等的鑑賞,也形成了日本獨特的藝術鑑賞觀點。

清閑的藝術

武家政權歷經更迭,在長達將近七百年的統治期間,藝術文化的面貌精彩且豐富。室町幕府第八代將軍足利義政(1436~1490)蒐羅大量精緻豪奢的中國工藝品,用以擺設私人會所,樹立文化上的權威地位。水墨畫則自十三世紀前半隨著禪宗傳入日本,盛行於室町時代的禪宗寺院。千利休(1522~1591)的茶道,將枯淡、幽寂的境界發展至極致。而桃山時代(1573~1603)金碧輝煌的障屏畫,反映了武將的審美意趣與時代風尚。武家的生活用品亦以繁複華麗的裝飾,代表了不凡的身份地位。

Loading