:::

Formation of
the Urban Class

After the death of Toyotomi Hideoyoshi, the dominant figure of his time, Tokugawa Ieyasu was conferred by the court with the title of shogun. Continuing the tradition of military administration, Edo (Tokyo) was established in 1603 as the site of his shogunate. In order to consolidate power, the shogun enfeoffed areas of land to related feudatories or those of military merit; they became known as daimyo. The places where these feudatories lived naturally became centers of commercial and cultural hegemony, resulting in the growth of numerous urban areas of various sizes. With their rising commercial and financial clout, three cities emerged as the so-called “Three Capitals”--Edo (Tokyo), Kyoto, and Osaka. Serving as foci for trade and commerce, their prosperity has continued to the present day. Of particular note was the city of Edo, the seat of power for the Tokugawa shogunate. Even in the early eighteenth century, its population had already exceeded one million, making it the largest city in the world at the time.

The social status system of the Edo shogunate divided people by profession into three general classes: samurai, farmers, and merchants (chōnin). The rise in urban economic activities around the country was accompanied by the appearance of merchants with both capital and specialized skills. Urban folk of means increasingly began to seek refinement in life for themselves, their creativity being the greatest catalyst for cultural development and yielding a unique form of urban culture.

Major Developments
in the Arts

In response to the idea of seeking refinement in life, wealthy residents of Kyoto sponsored the production of art or gave support as patrons of artists. For example, so-called “five-color (gosai)” ceramics were fired in Kyoto and became known as “Kyoto ware (kyo-yaki),” a favorite among aficionados of tea culture. And the artists in the Kōrin School with their highly decorative style favored not only painting but also spared no effort in other art forms. The elegant refinements of Chinese literati in Ming and Qing China likewise became a trend in Edo Japan, having a profound influence on developments in many areas of culture, including literature, painting (such as nanga), crafts, and tea (such as sencha).

Urban Life Among Commoners

The art of ukiyo-e (“floating world”) woodblock printing can be viewed one of the enduring symbols of Japanese culture. The world of ukiyo-e is filled with the imagination and amusements of Edo people. There are actors and performers popular at the time, beauties known by many, and scenic areas enticing visitors. These prints became a focus of attention among social groups, developing a function similar to the mass media we know today. In fact, the contents of ukiyo-e are like a databank for Edo history. The apparel, makeup, hairstyles, and local customs in these prints serve as a mirror of history for the social trends of this period.

Loading

:::

市民的創造

一代梟雄豐臣秀吉死後,德川家康受朝廷冊封為征夷大將軍,接續武士政權的傳統,並在1603年於江戶建立了幕府政權。為了鞏固權力,幕府分封領地予具血緣關係或戰功彪炳的諸侯(大名)。諸侯的居城儼然成為各地商業與文化重心,在日本境內形成了許多大小都市。隨著商業與金融的發達,號稱三都的江戶、京都與大阪,成為商品經濟流通中的樞紐,繁榮直至今日。特別是德川將軍所在的江戶城,甚至在十八世紀初人口超過百萬人,亦為當時世界上規模最大的都市。

江戶幕府的身份制度依職業將民眾大別為武士、農民與工商業者(町人)。隨著各地城市經濟活動的興盛,具有專門技術與豐沛資金的工商業者興起,富裕的都會市民開始追求屬於自己的審美品味,他們的創意是推動文化發展最大的原動力,獨特的都市文化應運而生。

蓬勃的藝術發展

基於對生活品味的追求,京都的富裕市民或投身於各類型的藝術創作中,或贊助、支援身旁的藝術工作者。例如在京都燒製的五彩陶器「京燒」,便受到茶人們的喜愛。而以裝飾性風格見長的琳派藝術家,除了繪畫長才之外,亦在工藝創作上不遺餘力。此外,中國明清文人的雅尚在江戶時代亦蔚為風潮,不管是文學、繪畫(南畫)、工藝、飲茶(煎茶道)等方面都形成深遠的影響。

都市的庶民生活

木版印刷的浮世繪版畫,可說是日本文化的象徵之一。浮世繪的世界充滿了江戶民眾的各種樂趣與想像:既有當紅的歌舞伎演員,也有名動市井的美人,以及令人神往的各地風景。同時也因應社會群眾的關注,發展成近似於大眾媒體的功能。浮世繪的內容也像是江戶時代的資料庫,畫中的服飾、化妝、髮型與風土民情等風俗史料,無一不反映了當時的社會流行。

Loading